Select Page

Britten Sinfonia Voices
Eamonn Dougan conductor

Byrd Miserere Mei
Shostakovich arr. Barshai Chamber Symphony
Bach Cantata “O Jesu Christ, mein’s Lebens Licht” BWV118
James MacMillan Seven Last Words from the Cross

With James MacMillan’s dramatic meditation on Christ’s final words, Seven Last Words from the Cross, at its heart, Britten Sinfonia’s moving celebration of Easter features exquisite music from four centuries.

Byrd’s melancholic Miserere Mei, JS Bach’s grave-side Cantata “O Jesu Christ, mein’s Leben Licht” and Barshai’s orchestral arrangement of Shostakovich’s searing eighth string quartet, written in response to the post-war destruction of Dresden and “dedicated to the Memory of Victims of Fascism’ complete the contemplative programme, with Britten Sinfonia Voices conducted by Eamonn Dougan.

See more at: The Britten Sinfonia Website